Occupy Miami

Oh hey, I remember this place. The Pizza Island blog! We were going to blog allll the time. It worked for a while. Then summer happened and it got so hot we all forgot our login info.

Anyway, I’ve been on tour for the past two months which was fun but also tiring. The very last stop was last weekend in Miami where I was part of the Miami Book Fair. While I was there, I headed over to Government Center to check out what Occupy Miami was up to. I did some interviews and sketches and the resulting piece is up today on Cartoon Movement. Click on the image below to check it out:

The original plan had been to just do some sketches of the encampment for Cartoon Movement’s ongoing series of Occupy Sketchbooks. But then I started talking to the people who lived in (or were involved with) “Peace City” and thought it would be a shame not so share some of their personalities, stories and thoughts on the movement. The result is not exactly a comic, but not just an essay either. I don’t know what to call it but it was fun to do.

Almost all of the drawings were done on site except for some which I had to use photo reference to re-do because things were moving too fast. This was also an excercise in learning to make something quickly: I did all the reporting and drawing for the piece over two days in Miami (Thursday and Sunday) and wrote it on the flight from Miami to New York, putting it all together at Pizza Island, the first place I headed to once I was back in the city.

Anyway, its good to be back here. I get another month and a half of Brooklyn and Pizza Island before I move to Angouleme to start a 7 month residency so I’ll try to blog more often from now on. Promise!

This entry was posted in Comics, conventions, Sketchbooks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

